It’s a man world they say. And that was how I felt when I started blogging. Most of the events by bloggers were headed by men, most of the commentators were men. I knew there were many women out there who are just as interesting, talented and exciting. But where were they? Where were you? So, I ventured out on this journey to seek for them, for you, and look what I found! (Look inside for more links).

The ones featured here (pixs) are those I discovered carrying the Women Bloggers Unite logo or the Interntional women’s Day 2007 official logo, at 2am in the morning. Clubmedrocks, I tried to capture you as well, but the message I got was: file too big! Will try to amend that in the morning 🙂

I dedicate this year’s International Women’s Day to all the wonderful women bloggers out there. There are some, whose blogs I’ve come to know, because of the Bloggers United movement. Some I stumbled upon while roaming the net. I append some of them here. I may have missed others. Please…please forgive me. But let me know if I have missed you. I’ll make it up to you somehow.

And I am happy that I have found some men too who support our cause.

You must drop into these blogs whenever you can. The topics and style of writing are as diverse as the universe. You’ll definitely find them informative, smart, witty, humorous, enjoyable and entertaining!

thebookaholic

cherries and blossoms

chan wei see

clunmedrocks

dansemacabre

dina zaman

elviza

lady birdakamollyz

jpajuni

flyagainsttime

elizabeth wong

free lunch

jermayne

junex2

jane sunshine

khairena

kimberlycun

lucia lai

malaysian in canada

midnite lily

nuraina samad

ongpauline

patient helen

politikus

synergylyn

snow piano

sophie’s world

wen hui

what a lulu

yuxian


And the supportive pro-women men:

4896 keanjin

must stop this

zorro

The list is growing I am sure….

11 responses »

  1. monsterball says:

    Here is the best chance for a woman blogger in Malaysia to lead and fulfill what Sheih kickdefella started. Some have the best ideas like Sheih…but Sis Marina seems to be most suitable to lead and unite ALL. Here is a chance for Sis Marina to use her God gifted talents in the most humane and impartial ways…as bloggers consist of all races..creed and religions.
    What a glorious noble opportunty for Sis Marina..and since Susan lives away from Malaysia..she is also most qualified to be Sis Marina Deputy.
    I repeat ….all races are bloggers. Sis Marina have been actively supporting
    Jeff And Rockybru by appearing in court.
    I dare say….no bloggers.. .be it MT RPK….Jeff……Rocky and definately not Sheih will object to my suggestion that the Bloggers Unite and Sis Marina be the first President.
    If thisc does not inspire Sis Marina….what is there to celebrate Women Freedom…this or that …which Sis Marina is so passionately fond of. It will be another hypocritical stage show in MALAYSIA.

  2. lucia says:

    hi susan, happy women’s day to you too. thanks for your effort in linking to those women who put up the IWD bloggers logo.

    thanks for your mail… if not i would have missed out blogging on this issue. i had wanted to write more but no time as it was getting late in the night (my fav musical grease on tv took up my time!).

  3. susan loone says:

    so sis marina…what’s your call?

    me? have no ambition to be deputy or whatever..just doing this out of LOVE 🙂

    better for this network to be loose and fancy free, more respect that way, more happiness….once we fall into structures, the end wont be too far away…hahaha. pessimistic? no, but the nature of blogs is free flow…so i dont think bloggers want to be govern under anything…am i right?

    but monsterball must be appreciated for having such faith in women, nevertheless 🙂

    lucia thanks for taking up the issue. am still on the search for more women bloggers…:-)

  4. shar101 says:

    Looks like Scrotumus Largerlicus has not been able to comprehend the purpose of the B.U. movement.

    The sum total of individual bloggers’ effort in rallying behind Rocky and Jeff was to protect our right to free speech. For B.U. to remain pure in purpose, it must remain informal and earn it’s credibility, integrity, respect, etc through all participants.

    I wish S.L. will get it through his ‘craniumus densesus’ that there is a bigger picture at play.

    P.S. – S.L. is not Susan Loone. Just in case if there is another ‘c.d.’ lurking around.

  5. susan loone says:

    huh? Scrotumus Largerlicus….? sounds like a bad word…

    how to remain pure???

    😦

  6. shar101 says:

    Susan,

    You know whom I’m referring to.

    Your sincere efforts for B.U. is both commendable and unrequited. You can’t get any purer than that.

  7. susan loone says:

    hey shar101….

    thanks for the compliment but i want to make it clear here: the efforts are by everyone and anyone who decided to take a stand….and compliments goes to one and all…this is never and must never be a single effort 🙂

  8. Hi Susan,

    Like to repeat wat I wrote in 3540 Jalan Sudin’s blog;

    “Behind the Success of every Man, there is a Woman” 😉

    Happy International Women’s Day to you.

    Adios

  9. elviza says:

    Dearest Susan,

    Thanks for helping me paste the logo. He he he.. I am so “dungu” one!

    Happy international womens day to you my friend. I have dedicated a posting on my blog as you suggested. Thanks again and have a good weekend ahead of you

  10. zewt says:

    hahaha…freelunch is not a man la…

    Anyway, happy international women day!

  11. Anna says:

    Susan,

    Firstly, keep doing what you’ve been doing. Sorry for the late posting, but I’d like to add. I do agree that there hasn’t been enough done from women in the blogsphere and I’m tired of having to go to sites in US or Australia to get diet tips which contain grapefruit, clothing only available in Europe and other such frustrating info not relevant to me.

    We’re hoping to set the pace and just launched our new women’s blog portal, Notes From Venus, http://www.notesfromvenus.com. We’re hoping to document the Asian woman’s life via her stories, we’ve got a collection of contributors which help give us a more balance and differing perspective, we welcome more women (and men) to come in and contribute anything on their mind. By sharing, we learn, and by learning, we move forward.

Leave a comment