BE A BLOGGER!

That’s what (see image: a very shy Dr.) Mustafa K Anuar just did. He became a blogger on May 1, because:

I have this nagging desire to know how it feels to be a monkey, a prostitute and an unemployed, among other unsavoury things!

So. now you know, Mus!

These ‘titles’ were ‘conferred’ on Malaysian bloggers before the 12th General Elections by BN politicians (who are all (HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHA!) bloggers themselves today!

As a “monkey, prostitute and jobless” blogger myself, I’m happy to see another friend join blogsphere. One with a good head on his shoulders, and lots of sense of humour too.

For those who are still wondering, Mus is assistant secretary of ALIRAN, coordinator of Charter 2000 – ALIRAN, a citizens’ media initiative to promote press freedom, and fellow of the Asian Public Intellectuals (API) programme (Anil Netto).

But most of all he is a friend, and what I would call, a member of my “council of elders” in matters of press freedom. I count myself lucky. Many practising journalists hold Mus in high esteem coz he had lectured so many of them and started them on a good foundation towards their media quest.

I left a comment on his new blog, that he must count himself lucky. I didn’t (haven’t and don’t intend to) drop by former Prime Minister Mahathir Mohamad’s blog (chedet…apa nama?) – not even once (hey, have heard the man rant for 22 years – enough lah!).

But I’ll be dropping by Mus’ blog alot (as I do Anil’s – my source of independent news on Penang these days along with Lucia’s “mental jog” and Ong Boon Keong’s “Penang Watch“.

Well, Mus, looking forward to journey with you through the blogsphere. With blogs like these, I won’t feel so homesick in Bangkok anymore!

5 responses »

  1. lucia says:

    i’m glad to see mustafa blogging too. met him once and found him to be a nice person.

    my daily never-to-be-missed blogs reading include yours and anil netto (the other 3 are jeff ooi, ktemoc, rocky and haris). guess now i should incluce mustafa annuar too.

    oh susan thanks for mentioning me. i’m so flattered.🙂

  2. lucia says:

    i’m glad to see mustafa blogging too. met him once and found him to be a nice person.

    my daily never-to-be-missed blogs reading include yours and anil netto (the other 3 are jeff ooi, ktemoc, rocky and haris). guess now i should incluce mustafa annuar too.

    oh susan thanks for mentioning me. i’m so flattered.🙂

  3. hutchrun says:

    I wonder if this jobless one`s a monkey or prostitute :

    In Shah Alam, an unemployed dentist is occupying a bungalow at a rental of RM25,000 per month. His last drawn salary was RM12,000. He is now drawing a couple of pensions not exceeding RM9,000. But he needs to feed himself and the family, maintain a fleet of cars and pay for treatment to look “fair and lovely”. So, how does he balance his budget? But this chap has come a long, long way from the days of selling ice cream … Has anything changed?
    http://sun2surf.com/article.cfm?id=21981

  4. fcdulan says:

    I have been a loyal reader of Aliran since the 1990s. Aliran is the conscience of Malaysia, I must say. Glad to know that Mus has joined the RIGHTEOUS group of Bloggers. Hope to see him in action against the evil ones in the cyber space soon.

  5. bamboo river says:

    Sincerely , I do not know Dr. Mustafa K Anuar until Susan’s posting/intro. Well, with Susan’s endorsement I wish him all the best in blogging and will visit his blog to share my humble views.

Leave a Reply

